top of page


  WINNING TEAM---Oklahoma State University’s 1964 Flying Aggies won their eighth team championship in 15 years last weekend at the National Intercollegiate Flying Association meet in Bozeman, Mont.  They won the prestigious Grover Loening trophy, the meet championship first place award, American Airlines safety award, and the female and male first place awards.  Shown with the 10 trophies won at the meet are (kneeling) Keith Mackey, left, Stillwater, and Ray White, Wetumka.  Girls are Roxie Trivitt, left, Perry; Carol Hutton, Custer; and Kim Bailey, El Reno, first place female pilot.  Back row, Art Bogie, left, Boynton; Jim Kelln, Shattuck; Randy McCoy, Stillwater; Jerry Yates, Altus, first place male pilot; Roy Standridge, Lindsay; and Tiner Lapsley, faculty sponsor and advisor.  Not shown are Joe cooper, Grainola, and Bob Swaim, Okeene.  The Aggies placed in all four events in the national competition--cross-country navigation, bomb drop, power-on and power off landings-- to easily outdistance the 22 team field.

bottom of page